Game Jam+ Manila Commences!

Today’s the start of Game Jam Plus! (Or not?)

I actually don’t know what time it commences versus what time this post will get posted (haha?). Plus, I did post in advance, so… I can’t really share the official pub of the Game Jam Plus Theme reveal.

Let me just share this updated GJ+ Manila poster which was used as a teaser for the one week countdown of the jam:

I’m really happy for my org to be able to organize such a big event. And as one of the organizers, I’ll share some insider info… just kidding. I’ll share about my experience.

So, first and foremost, my role in organizing the event was more on back-end and pre-event preparation. And by that, I mean looking for sponsors, partners (particularly media and educational partners), and SEA Studios for partnership/satellite venues. I, being the always “bored” person that I am (no, I’m not bored apparently, I just have an issue with my hyperactiveness, haha), just went off as far as I can looking for contacts. Like, I collated more than a hundred SEA studio partners and around 50+ total of media partners and sponsors.

Well, with all that said, only one of the contacts I found agreed to partner (as a media partner, surprisingly so). The partners we really got were from the contacts the other organizers found :’). To be fair, there’s only four sponsors and two media partners (the other one isn’t in the poster since they accepted late), and we all collated a lot.

As for educational partners, they only agreed to share the event but declined to be an official partner as they found no benefit to do so. Still, thank you to all the universities that shared the event to their students.

Lastly, none of the SEA Studios agreed to be a satellite venue (I guess it’s a little difficult to hold an event for them since they’re busy with other things). BUT! Some of them did register for the game jam. Honestly surprised we got a lot (idk if I can say the numbers) of registrants, coming from Manila, other parts of the Philippines, and other parts of South East Asia.

I am really happy to see that the event is a success. As one of the organizers, I am very very very happy about the success (again), and the experience. It’s my first experience to organize a big event like this (well, we didn’t expect it to be THIS big, but yeah) hands-on. My other experiences were mostly assisting in organizing, so this was a fresh and a nice learning experience.

With the success of Game Jam Plus Manila (and Game Jam Plus as a whole), I hope some more cities in the Philippines hold the event (so that not everyone registers to ours since per venue there’ll only be 2 winners), and of course, to other countries as well. If anyone reads this and wants to try hosting the event, you can contact the Game Jam Plus organizers here: https://gamejamplus.com/

With all that said, to anyone who reads this and participated in Game Jam Plus, whether in the Manila venue or in other countries, thanks for registering and good luck with the jam! I’d love to try your games some time – and I will, for those who opened the jam on itch.io :))

Leave a comment